Gene Chandler - Just Be True

Gene Chandler
Just Be True
Label: Charly R&B ‎– CRB 1007
Type: Vinyl, LP, Compilation
Country: UK
Date of released: 1980
Category: Funk / Soul
Style: Rhythm & Blues, Soul

Download link (FLAC, MP3):

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Nothing Can Stop Me
Written-By – Mayfield*
A2 A Song Called Soul
Written-By – Butler*
A3 You Can't Hurt Me No More
Written-By – Mayfield*
A4 Just Be True
Written-By – Mayfield*
A5 Nite Owl
Written-By – Williams*
A6 Festival Of Love
Written-By – Williams*
A7 Rainbow
Written-By – Mayfield*
A8 You Threw A Lucky Punch
Written-By – Covay*, White*, Robinson*
B1 (Gonna Be) The Good Times
Written-By – Mayfield*
B2 Kissin' In The Kitchen
Written-By – Williams*
B3 Man's Temptation
Written-By – Mayfield*
B4 Think Nothing About It
Written-By – Mayfield*
B5 The Girl's A Devil
Written-By – Williams*
B6 The Big Lie
Written-By – Williams*
B7 What Now
Written-By – Mayfield*
B8 Duke Of Earl
Written-By – Williams*, Edwards*, Dixon*

Companies, etc.

  • Published By – United Artists
  • Published By – Ivan Mogull
  • Published By – Tristan Music
  • Published By – Karion Music
  • Published By – Jobete Music
  • Published By – Tollie Music Ltd.
  • Licensed From – Vee Jay Records
  • Lacquer Cut At – The Music Centre, Wembley
  • Manufactured By – Aerco Processing – AE 1167


  • Compiled By, Liner Notes [Sleeve notes] – Cliff White
  • Design [Sleeve Design] – Hamish
  • Featuring – The Dukays (tracks: A5, A6, B2, B5, B6, B8)
  • Lacquer Cut By – Boppin' Bob*
  • Research [Wax Fax] – Robert Pruter


same front and back cover as Just Be True, but labels show 'Just Be True' in capital letters & ℗ 1980 (instead of 1985) and matrix is different.

All tracks licensed from Vee Jay Records.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side A, Etched): W-6 CRB-1007-A BOPPIN' BOB AE 1167
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side B, Etched): W-1 CRB-1007-B AE 1167 MUSIC Centre
  • Rights Society: MCPS

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
CRB 1007 Gene Chandler Just Be True ‎(LP, Comp) Charly R&B CRB 1007 UK 1985
OX 3237 Gene Chandler Just Be True ‎(LP, Comp) Oxford OX 3237 Italy 1980